Favorite June reads- 2016

June was a big book month for me. I read, I read and I read. Reading is sort of a safe haven for me. It is a stress reducer and it helps me with my anxiety, I tend to turn to a good book when I am having a bad day.

One of my favorite books is re-read this month, when you know a good book, sometimes you can’t help but read it more than once. Two other books are new to me, they were probably some of the best books I have read, that says a lot. Zoella, one of my favorite YouTubers and Bloggers, inspired me to read these books this month.

“Sophie May is content with her life in her small English village, working in the local coffee shop and living with her mom. But when famous actor Billy comes to town to play Mr. Darcy in a new film adaptation of Pride and Prejudice, Sophie’s quiet life is quickly turned on its head. Billy is adored by women around the world, but he only wants Sophie on his arm. But being with Billy comes at a price, and Sophie is thrown in the spotlight after years of shying away from attention. Can she handle the constant scrutiny that comes with being with Billy.”

This book was a recommendation from Zoe, I’m so glad I decided to read this. This book is a roller coaster of emotions. I was sitting on the edge of my seat at points, begging for more. I didn’t put this down, it was read in one sitting. Sophie May is such a sweet character, she grew up in a small village and had no idea Billy was a famous man when he walked in the coffee shop one day. She gets thrown into a shock, dating a “hollywood” star and being thrown into the spotlight. The love that is painted between Billy and Sophie is genuinely beautiful.

If you love Eleanor and Park, Hazel and Augustus, and Mia and Adam, you’ll love the story of Maddy, a girl who’s literally allergic to the outside world, and Olly, the boy who moves in next door . . . and becomes the greatest risk she’s ever taken. This innovative and heartfelt debut novel unfolds via vignettes, diary entries, illustrations, and more.

My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.

But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.

Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster.”

Zoe recommended this book on YouTube. Maddy is one of those characters you immediately sympathize with. She sees Olly move in across the street and she isn’t even allowed to leave the house, she’s falling for a boy she cant even be face-to-face with. This book sucks you inside and you feel like you are Maddy. Olly… he is just one of those characters you can’t help but fall in love with. The love he has for Maddy… he sacrifices so much for her.

“Saving myself for marriage, not hardly.‬‬
Saving myself for someone who will make my heart race, most definitely.

In theory it’s a good plan, however even the best-laid plans fall through. Seeing him, being around him, alerts all my senses and I dream about being his, wrapping myself in his arms and never letting go. The only problem – he sees me as his sister.

My name’s Ava Evans and I’m in love with my older brother’s best friend, Nate Garrison.

Burying myself in work for the past two years, avoiding any thought of her, has worked, until now. She’s everywhere, in my dreams, in my gym, and in my heart. I’m not sure when I fell in love with Ava Evans, but I am completely in love with my best friends baby sister.

At first she was too young for me and that made it easy to stay away. Now, it’s a struggle to keep my distance.

How am I supposed to resist her when I can’t escape her? If he ever found out, it would ruin our friendship. Even with that knowledge all she would have to do is…

Just Say When.”

This isn’t “Just a classic” little sister falls for brothers best friend book. This book its oh so much more than that. Ava has always known that she loved Nate, her older brothers best friend. Nate is in love with Ava but is afraid of what her brother would do if he pursued the relationship. Ava loved Nate- he went off to the armed forces after high school and she wrote to him daily. This book tugged at my heartstrings.

Ava reminded me a lot of myself, she gets migraines and Nate takes care of her. He remembered how to care for her from their childhood. Ava is a strong woman and she knows what she wants in life and won’t settle for any less.

What were your favorite books this month? Have you read any of these? What did you think of them? Thanks for reading!

XOXO, 

Ashley

Follow me on Pinterest!
Follow me on Twitter!
Follow me on Instagram!
 

2 thoughts on “Favorite June reads- 2016

Leave a Reply

