It’s Okay Not To Have It All Figured Out

I just turned 26 in November. I still don’t have my whole life plans figured out yet. I work in a family business in property management and I work my boutique on the side.

After high school, I was prepared to go to college because that’s what I thought was the “right” thing to do at the time. I didn’t know what I wanted to do. I didn’t know what I wanted to major in. I just felt like college was the right course to go.

Long story short, I got an injury that made me re-think my college career. I fell off a hoverboard and broke my elbow and have some permanent nerve damage from the injury. I was working on healing myself while trying to make college work. I was more stressed about getting good grades than I was about healing from my injury.

I know I want a family later on in life (if it’s in God’s plan of course), but I don’t know what age. To be honest I’m winging this “adult” thing. It doesn’t come with a handbook as much as we wish it did.

All I know is four things…

1) I want to travel to as many places as I can and go on adventures. I want to go on my first cruise. I want to visit places we haven’t been to together. I want to make as many memories as we can and soak those in.

2) I want my boutique to succeed as much as God allows. I did a huge thing this year by changing the name of my business to a more permanent name. I want to attend as many vendor events as I can.

3) I want to spend as much one-on-one time with my husband as possible before bringing kids into the picture. I want to visit Disneyland, as its only a few hours away from us, and make our own memories before we have littles with us making those new memories.

4) I want to look back at my life and cherish the things we did and not regret the things we didn’t do.

Life is something that you should live. I want to look at my life and be so grateful for all the things I do, as I do now. My husband and I have this thing that we don’t buy each other gifts. We save the money we would be buying gifts with and adventure and travel with that money. We try to do a few small trips a year and one if it’s a bigger trip.

So, as much as I wish I had my life and my future all together… I don’t. I don’t think anyone does in all honesty. It’s okay if you don’t have it all together. In fact, it’s normal.

Until next time,

Ashley

Leave a comment